Athanasios Stathopoulos elected as President of the Hellenic Gymnastics Federation

The end of an era and the beginning of a new one has come at the Hellenic Gymnastics Federation, after the election of mr Athanasios Stathopoulos as the new President of the Federation, at the General Assembly, which was held virtually on Sunday, March 21st, due to the Covid-19 pandemic restrictions.

The newly-elected President will take the helm from mr Athanasios Vasiliadis, who has stepped down after almost 14 consecutive years in office.
Mr Vasiliadis, who also serves as Vice-President at the European Gymnastics, was re-elected as representative of the Hellenic Gymnastics Federation at the Hellenic Olympic Committee for the 2021-2024 Olympic cycle, but couldn’t be candidate for the presidency of the Federation itself, due to the recent change to sports law, which foresees a maximum of three Olympic cycle tenures in office.

Mr Stathopoulos, General Secretary of the Hellenic Federation alongside mr Vasiliadis from 2007 to 2021, will now be in charge for the next three-and-a-half years. At the elections he earned 38.7% of the votes and topped among a total of three contenders, followed by European Gymnastics MAG TC Member mr Nikolaos Provias (32.3%) and mr Christos Psathas (29%).

The new Board of Directors of the Federation will be comprised of 15 members and will include for the first time an Olympic medalist: This will be ms Irini Aindili, bronze medalist at the “Sydney 2000” Olympic Games with the Greek group, and also part of its success at the 1999 and 2001 Rhythmic Gymnastics European Championships, in Budapest and Geneva respectively, plus the victorious 1999 World Championships in Osaka, Japan.

The 15 elected members of the new Board of Directors:
Athanasios Stathopoulos (President), Nikolaos Provias, Christos Psathas -elected as candidates for the Presidency with more than 25% of the votes- Konstantinos Pantazis, Irini Aindili, Irini Mandraveli, Avraam Sapranidis, Eleni Tzavara, Konstantina Dima, Dimitris Tsegkelis, Ioannis Pavlakis, Eleni Michopoulou, Spyros Sklavos, Themis Haritou, Stavroula Kouvatsou -elected as candidates for the Board.